Scratch Market - Recipe and Lifestyle Blog

You Won’t Believe These 19 Foods That Are Not Vegan

Scratch Market is reader-supported. If you buy through our links we may receive a small commission at not extra cost to you. Please see our disclosure policy.

If you are on a vegan diet, you may be surprised to learn that some of your favorite foods are not actually vegan. Many people think that just because a food doesn’t contain meat or dairy products, it must be vegan. However, this is not always the case. There are many surprising foods that contain animal-derived ingredients such as fish sauce so by definition are not considered vegan.

Whether you choose to eat vegan for health benefits or live a completely vegan lifestyle for moral reasons, there are a number of things out there that you may be eating now thinking that they are vegan when the truth is, they aren’t. We’ve compiled this list of surprising things that aren’t vegan, so you can know what to be on the lookout for.

1. Marshmallows

Nothing is better than toasting marshmallows on a campfire, but if you’re going vegan-free, you’ll need to check the ingredient list carefully to find some that don’t contain gelatin. Gelatin is a protein made from animal by-products. It is used as a thickening agent in many foods, including marshmallows. Check out the vegan marshmallows by Dandies.

Foods That Are Not Vegan

2. Worcestershire Sauce

This sauce is great to adding a kick to different dishes, but most brands contain anchovies. Anchovies are a small, salt-water fish that is often used as a flavoring in food. It is usually found in Worcestershire sauce, Caesar salad dressing, and many other sauces. Fortunately, there are also vegan-friendly brands that you can enjoy without worrying.

Worcestershire sauce in a bowl

3. White Sugar

Many white sugars are processed using bone char. Bone char is a substance made from the animal bones. It is used to filter sugar and make it white. Some vegans avoid sugar that has been processed using bone char, while others don’t mind. There are a few vegan-friendly white sugars on the market that don’t use bone char in the filtering process. Some of these brands include Wholesome!. Always look for cane sugar and organic sugar.

Decorative spoons with white sugar

4. Beer and Wine

Not all, but some types of beer and wine are clarified with bone marrow, gelatin, casein, or even isinglass (fish bladders). To make sure you’re drinking gluten-free, take some time to research your drink of choice.

Bottles of Red Wine
Bottles of Red Wine

5. Jams and Jellies

Nearly all jellies contain gelatin as one of their key ingredients and so do some types of jam, so be sure to check the packaging before you buy just to be safe or just make your own. While you’re at it, go ahead and add gummy bears and other gummy candies to this section. If you’re trying to eat clean, you wouldn’t go near these things anyway!

Toast with jam

6. Apple Juice

Like some types of beer, there are some types of apple juice that are clarified with isinglass, which is a fancy way of saying fish bladders. While it is not clear why apple juice needs to be clarified with fish bladders, it is thought that it may help to remove any impurities in the juice. Some people also believe that it helps to improve the flavor and clarity of the juice. However, there are a number of vegan-friendly apple juices on the market, so you don’t have to worry if this is something that concerns you.

Fresh apple juice. Against a dark background.

7. Red Food Dyes

If you’re eating any type of food that has “Natural Red #4” listed as a colorant, then you’re eating something colored with insect scales. Natural? Yes. Vegan? Definitely not.

Red food dye #4, a common ingredient, also known as carmine, is made from crushed cochineal insects. Cochineal insects are a type of beetle that is found in South America. The insects are dried and then ground into a powder, which is used to dye food red. While it is not clear why red food dye needs to be derived carminic acid, it is thought that the color may be more stable and intense than other natural red dyes.

Watermelon jelly

8. Vegetable Soup

It’s a good idea check the ingredients list before buying vegetable soup in a can. Quite often, the stock used for canned vegetable soup is actually beef stock or chicken broth.

Spring vegetable soup

9. Pop & Soda

Many types of soda contain a surprising number of animal products and are certainly not vegan-friendly. However, many of the colorants used in soda are derived from insects or other animal by-products.

Cold soda with lemon at the bar

10. Non-Dairy Creamer

You would think that having “non-dairy” in the name would mean something, but most of the non-dairy creamers out there contain caseinate. Caseinate is a milk-derived protein that is often used as a thickening agent in food. It is thought that it may help to improve the texture and consistency of the creamer.

Variety of non-dairy milk

11. Dry-Roasted Peanuts

Not all, but some of the dry-roasted peanuts that you’ll find on your grocery store shelf contain gelatin, so make sure you read the ingredient list before buying to stay vegan! If you’re looking for a vegan-friendly alternative to dry-roasted peanuts, why not try roasted chickpeas or sunflower seeds?

Roasted peanuts

12. Orange Juice

Unfortunately, not all brands of orange juice are vegan. Some contain lanolin and fish oils. The good news is there are a number of vegan-friendly orange juices on the market.

raw sea buckthorn and orange juice in glasses. with rosemary. antioxidant drink for immunity

13. BBQ-Flavored Potato Chips

Most brands of BBQ-flavored chips actually contain some animal fat or traces of milk, so be sure to check the bag before you buy if you’re looking for a vegan snack.

Crunchy Barbecue BBQ Potato Chips

14. Grapefruit Juice

Ever wonder how grapefruit juice gets its dark coloring when the juice part of grapes isn’t actually that dark? The truth is that many popular brands add insect-derived dyes to achieve the color.

Bottle of grapefruit juice with glass and fruit

15. Miso Soup

Miso soup is a Japanese dish that is made from a broth that is typically flavored with miso paste. While there are many variations of miso soup, all of the versions typically contain some type of stock, tofu, and seaweed. Miso paste is made from fermented soybeans, rice, or barley, so it is considered a vegan-friendly ingredient. However, some brands of miso paste may contain fish oil or other fish by-products, so be sure to check the ingredients before you buy.

Tofu miso soup

16. Soy Sauce

Most soy sauces are vegan. However, some brands of soy sauce may contain anchovies, so be sure to check the ingredients before you buy. If you are looking for a soy sauce alternative, you can try using tamari sauce. Tamari sauce is a type of soy sauce that is made without wheat. It is considered a gluten-free alternative to soy sauce.

Shoyu soy sauce

17. Honey

While honey is technically a vegan ingredient, it is not always considered to be vegan-friendly. Many vegans do not consume honey because they believe that it is an exploitation of bees.

Honey comb and lavender flowers on a dark concrete background

18. Plant Based Meats

There is some debate over whether or not fake meats such as veggie burgers are vegan. This is because many of the ingredients used to make these meat substitutes, such as egg whites and milk, are not technically vegan. However, many of these products can be made vegan-friendly by simply omitting the non-vegan ingredients. So, if you’re looking for a vegan alternatives to meat, it is best to check the ingredient list carefully to see if the product is suitable for your diet.

Vegan lentil burger

19. Pesto Sauce

Pesto sauce is a delicious Italian condiment that can be used on pasta, pizza, or as a dip. Many people are surprised to learn that pesto sauce is not vegan-friendly. The main ingredient in pesto sauce is Parmesan cheese, which is made from cow’s milk.

bowl of basil pesto

Tips for avoiding non-vegan foods and living a vegan lifestyle

– When eating out, ask your server about the ingredients in each dish before ordering. Many restaurants now have vegan-friendly options, but it’s always best to be sure.

– Check the ingredient list of every product before purchasing it. If there are any animal byproducts listed, avoid it or look for other options.

– There are a number of great vegan cookbooks available that offer recipes for every occasion. Try out a few new recipes this week and you’ll be surprised at how easy it is to live a vegan lifestyle.

– Join or attend a local vegan meetup group. This is a great way to connect with other vegans in your area and get advice on living a vegan lifestyle.

Use a Vegan Ingredient Checker

If you’re still unsure about non-vegan ingredients, check an online database. We like to use this free vegan ingredient checker by Double Check Vegan. Just copy and paste a entire ingredient list or a single ingredient into their checker form and click search. Any ingredients that are derived from or may be derived from animals that they have in their database of over 2,200 entries will be returned. Please note this is for ingredients only, not product names.

Living as a vegan can be difficult because there are so many foods that contain animal-derived products. However, it is not impossible. By being aware of the non-vegan food products out there and knowing how to avoid them, you can easily transition into a vegan lifestyle without too much trouble. If you find yourself struggling with making the switch, don’t hesitate to reach out for help. There are plenty of resources available to those who want to lead a vegan life, you just have to know where to look.

Clean Eating Tips

You May Also Like...

Share:

Meet Dee

Meet Dee

I love to share recipes with real ingredients that are both sweet and savory (especially sweet:) My mission with Scratch Market is to inspire you with recipes that will bring your families together in the kitchen. I'm introverted at heart but know how important socializing can be for maintaining good relationships, when writing not only am looking forward to sharing information - It's also building connections between readers who love good food as much as I do!

4 Responses

  1. As someone who’s been forced into a partially vegan lifestyle due to a tick bite (hecking alpha-gal syndrome), ensuring there aren’t hidden mammalian ingredients hidden in my food is a matter of life and death. I definitely learned the hard way that most mass-produced (aka grocery store) brands of wine aren’t vegan. Thanks for the tips of other products I need to triple check before consuming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to Scratch Market! We're so glad you're here.

Follow us and stay updated when we release new recipes.

recommended

Never Miss a Recipe

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER